ACRP is governed by a Board of directors drawn from across the broad spectrum of the Christian Church and Academia in South Africa and across the Continent.

The current directors are: Dr Vincent Mazibuko (Chair), Dr Tertius Erasmus (Vice Chair), Prof Marilyn Naidoo, Dr Phillip Wandawa (Uganda), Dr Ishmael Noko, Dr Willem Semmelink, Prof Elijah Baloyi, Prof Nicolene Joubert, Bishop Nyane Phomane, Rev Hermy Damons, Adv Joel Baloyi, Dr Nontando Hadebe, Rev Leon Venter, Past Mangaliso Matshobane, Dr Barbara Louw, Rev Wynand Louw, Dr JP (Hannes) van der Walt (Secretary).


The Board is supported and advised by four technical standing committees. The Committees are as follows:

Executive Committee, including the Financial and Human Resources function

The role of the Executive Committee is to represent the Board of Directors during the recess between meetings of the Board and to play a guiding and supervisory role on behalf of the Board during the recess. The Executive also functions as Financial and Human Resource Committee of the Association.

The members of the Executive Committee are: Dr Vincent Mazibuko (Chair), Dr Tertius Erasmus (Vice Chair), Bishop Nyane Phomane, and Dr Hannes van der Walt (Secretary). Co-opted members are Rev Hermy Damons (ecumenical liaison) and Mr Wynand Louw (financial oversight).

Registration Committee

The Registration Committee is responsible to develop, and oversee the implementation of policy and guidelines on the affiliation and awarding of designations of persons in ministry. This includes the responsibility to oversee the development and implementation of ACRP’s policy on the Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) towards a designation. (Individual affiliation, designation and RPL is done via the relevant application forms.)

The Committee is also responsible for policy and oversight regarding the affiliation of ministry related institutions with ACRP (churches, other Christian ministry institutions, ministry training institutions, ecumenical bodies, fraternals, etc). (Institutional affiliation is done through a Memorandum of Understanding entered into between ACRP and the relevant institution.)

The Committee members are: Bishop Nyane Phomane (Chairperson), Prof Nicolene Joubert, Rev Hermy Damons, Rev Leon Venter.

Training Quality Committee

The role of the Committee is:

  • To oversee the development and implementation of ACRP’s Continued Professional Development (CPD) strategy. Implementation of the CPD strategy includes guidance to training providers and assessment centres with regard to CPD accreditation standards and processes.
  • To oversee ACRP’s processes to facilitate the development of new ministry qualifications or upgrade existing qualifications in consultation with the relevant educational institutions and/or quality councils within the South African National Qualifications Framework (NQF). 
  • Within the limits of its capacity, to support training providers in developing quality ministry training programmes and in preparing applications for accreditation by the relevant quality council (in South Africa and internationally, as the case may be).

The Committee members are: Dr Willem Semmelink (Chairperson), Prof Marilyn Naidoo, Dr Tertius Erasmus, Dr Ishmael Noko, Dr Phillip Wandawa, and Dr Danie van Zyl.

Ethics & Disciplinary Committee

The Committee's field of focus will be ministry ethics, organisational discipline and disciplinary action. These are based on ACRP Ethical Code and Disciplinary Code.

The role and functions of the Committee are as follows:

  • The Committee oversees the development and implementation of ACRP’s Ethical Code and Disciplinary Code.
  • It primarily has an educational, advisory, and consultative role.
  • When complaints are received, it has a mediating and/or disciplinary function, depending on the nature of the matter at hand. Where the complaint involves an affiliated church or ministry with its own internal disciplinary processes, the complaint will be referred to be dealt with internally by that institution, with feedback to ACRP for appropriate action in terms of its internal rules.
  • Complaints are dealt with in terms of ACRPs Code of Ethics and Disciplinary Code. The Executive Committee will be informed before the recommended remedial action is enacted. 
  • An affiliate feeling aggrieved by the decisions of the Ethics and Disciplinary Committee may appeal to the Executive Committee, and eventually to the Board of Directors whose decision shall be final.

The Committee members are: Adv Joel Baloyi (Chair), Dr Vincent Mazibuko, Dr Barbara Louw, Prof Elijah Baloyi, Dr Nontando Hadebe, Rev Nokuthula Dhladhla.


The administration of ACRP is managed by ACRP’s General Manager and administrative staff.